Adebayo Adenrele

The National Executive Council of Nigeria Union Journalists, (NUJ) has dissolved Ogun State caretaker committee with immediate effect.

The dissolution was made as part of efforts to resolve the lingering crisis in the State.

The decision of the Union was reached during the National Electoral Council, NEC meeting held in Benin, Edo State following recommendations by the Southwest leaders of the union under the leadership of the Vice president, Comrade Ronke Afebioye Samo.

The NEC has directed Chairmen and Secretaries of the chapels in the council to take over the leadership of the council as stated by the NUJ constitution in Article 5C, section (9)(c).

Also an independent electoral body consisting of three members from the Zone have been inaugurated to conduct election within one month.

It was resolved that, the caretaker committee has failed to achieve its mandate aside the fact that the caretaker committee has over stayed.

Members of the Committee are, Chairman Oyo Council, Demola Babalola, Chairman Lagos, Adeleye Ajayi and Secretary Ekiti, Kayode Babatuyi.