Precious Oham

The Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, has selected two former governors including Chief Olusegun Osoba of Ogun State and Orji Uzor Kalu of Abia State alongside the former Chairman of Daar Communication, Chief Raymond Dokpesi among others for recognition in the maiden edition of its “Milestone Recognition of Media Icons” initiative.

Chairman, Organising Committee for the event, Gbenga Onayiga, said in a statement in Lagos that these topflight media personalities are to be honoured for their immense contributions to the development of journalism and the empowerment of media professionals in the country.

“Having created and sustained employment for journalists over the years, our union has deemed it fit to encourage the recipients and encourage other media professionals and entrepreneurs to invest in the industry.” Onayiga explained.

According to Onayiga, the event billed for the Banquet Hall, Muson Centre, Onikan, Lagos, on December 8, 2022, by 5.30pm will have the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, as the Chief Host/Guest Speaker.

Other distinguished personalities selected for the award include Chief Nduka Obaigbena, Publisher, ThisDay Newspapers and Chairman Arise TV; Dr. John Momoh, Chief Executive Officer, Channels Media Group; The Chairman of Trust Media Ltd, Mallam Kabir Yusuf.

Other seasoned journalists and media entrepreneurs penciled down for recognition include the Kano State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, who was also a former President of NUJ, Mallam Mohammed Garba; the Chief Executive Officer, Independent Communication Network Limited, Mr.Bayo Onanuga; Chairman, Editorial Board of Penpushing and former Chairman, Lagos NUJ, Mrs Funke Fadugba; former Managing Director of Champion Newspapers, Mr. Emma Agu. Alhaji Mohammed Idris Malagi, Publisher Blueprint Newspapers and the Inspector General of Police Usman Alkali Baba.

Mr. Buki Ponle, Managing Director of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Mrs. Yemi Kolapo, Publisher/Managing Director, The Point Newspapers and Director General of Governor Yahaya Bello (GYB) Media Organisation as well as Mr John Ajayi, Publisher of Marketing Edge Magazine are also shortlisted for the award.

Governor Sanwo-Olu, who will speak on “The Role of the Media in the 2023 General Election”, will also be honoured for his media-friendly disposition.